Pasta

Seafood Pasta on a Plate2I could live on pasta. At one time I thought I’d write a book about pasta called, My Life in Pasta, because pasta has been such a big part of my life.

It has been getting easier to find good, fresh seafood here in the middle of Mexico. There are a number of stores that have it flown in weekly and a number of restaurants that have good seafood dishes.

I buy my seafood from a vendor at the Saturday Organic Market here in San Miguel de Allende. He has the fish flown in twice a week – on Wednesdays and Fridays – so I can pick it up on Saturday.

A few weeks ago, I bought frozen sea scallops from him and cooked it with pasta. My husband, Mark, went crazy for it and asked me to make it again. So, I did and here it is. I’m calling this dish Seafood Pasta because I actually think that this dish would be even better with shrimp.

Unfortunately (for Mark) I’m not a big shrimp eater so poor Mark has to “settle” for scallops. Life can be so tough for an eater

Seafood Pasta
My husband LOVES this dish so I thought I’d better write it down so I can replicate it! You can substitute almost any fish, even salmon. If you don’t have/want/like peas, use asparagus.

Serves 2-3

1 lb. scallops (you can also use shrimp, if you prefer)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1/8 -1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes Note: I used 1/8 teaspoon and it was hot enough for us!
½ lb. spaghetti
Peas, fresh or frozen, about ¼ cup
1 tablespoon heavy cream
1 tablespoon chives, chopped (optional)

Cook spaghetti according to package directions.

In the meantime, heat the oil in a medium skillet until warm. Add garlic and red pepper flakes. Sauté for approximately one or two minutes. You don’t want the garlic to get too brown.

Add the scallops (or shrimp) and sauté for another couple of minutes.

When spaghetti is done, add to scallops, along with a ladle of pasta water. Boil the peas in the pasta where (yes, where you cooked the pasta) for about a minute or two. Add the peas to the spaghetti.

Swirl a bit to combine and then add the heavy cream. Swirl again. Add chives, if using.

Serve.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pasta

  1. Mac McCallum says:

    Kathy and I tried Seafood Pasta. Please tell Mark when made with jumbo shrimp it is excellent. We like our food more on the spicy side so we added chili paste. Thanks for this Arlene.

    • Thanks for the comment and for reading my blog. I’m trying to post more frequently. Did you see the Paella one? It is surprisingly easy. I’ve made it twice already.

      Hope all is well with you and Kathy. We are (still) loving it here in Mexico.

  2. Hi Arlene,
    Thanks again for the book! Totally my cup of tea — Jerry just took it away from me, so thought I’d have a look at your blog. You can have a look at mine too, if you like — I’m not a very diligent writer, but do try to write something other than a menu or receipt every now and then!

Leave a Reply

